All Taekwondo Forms 1-8 – Taeguk Poomsae

Do you have a Belt Testing coming up soon? At my Taekwondo school, students are required to perform their Poomsae at each Belt Exam. Different styles of Taekwondo practice different Poomsae, but the ones below are the Taeguk forms. I’ve listed below videos where I walk through the forms step-by-step so you can break them down and follow along to practice at home. Hope this helps your forms training!

1. Taeguk Il Jang

Taeguk Il Jang is typically known as the White Belt form. It represents “Heaven” which is symbolic for the spirit of solid foundation and the beginning. In this form, you’ll find walking stances, front stances, low blocks, inside blocks, high blocks, front kicks, and punches.

2. Taeguk Ee Jang

Taeguk Ee Jang is the second form and it means “lake/river.” This form represents inner strength. Though it doesn’t introduce any new techniques, it does get a bit more complex with different turns and combinations. One important note is to make sure you are punching the correct target- this form has two head-level punches.

3. Taeguk Sam Jang

The next form is Taeguk Sam Jang, which means “fire.” This form represents the spirit of enthusiasm! It also introduces open hand blocks, open hand strikes, and back stances. One common mistake is to step before executing the front snap kick, so make sure you watch out and don’t step before kicking!

4. Taeguk Sa Jang

Taeguk Sa Jang means “thunder.” It is symbolic for undeniable power and dignity. This form has several new techniques, including side kicks, which are my favorite! Don’t forget to use proper chambers for all the new strikes.

5. Taeguk Oh Jang

The next form is Taeguk Oh Jang. This form means “wind,” which represents both forms wind can take on– soft and gentle, or forceful and destructive. Make sure you pay special attention to the stances and maintain balance in your side kicks!

6. Taeguk Yuk Jang

Taeguk Yuk Jang is one of my FAVORITE poomsae. It means “water” and symbolizes a constant flow. Take your time practicing this form, and enjoy the roundhouse kicks! This is the first form where the kihop is not at the end of the sequence.

8. Taeguk Pal Jang

This is the last of the color belt Taeguk forms, congrats! Taeguk Pal Jang means “earth” and it represents the spirit of humbleness. This exciting form has two jump kicks, two kihops, and all kinds of new moves- enjoy learning it!!

I hope this list helps you prepare for your next Belt Test or just to review your poomsae.

I’ll see you over on my Instagram or YouTube channel!